Leaving Early

Work_leaving early

Normally I work on a team of seven. 

This morning we had three.  Pinata, myself and another coworker who I haven’t yet decided on a nickname for.  However, for clarification purposes in this blog post we’ll just refer to him as “Bullhorn”

So, each of us on our team normally work staggered shifts so that we have phones covered at all times.  This being a call center/help desk environment, this works well enough for everyone and makes life easier on each of us so we’re not taking more calls than we should be.

With that in mind my normal shift ends at 5pm.  Bullhorn, 3PM and Pinata is supposed to work until 4 PM; but that happens as often as a blue moon in September.

Before I continue with my Friday rant there are a couple things I should point out…

1)  The public schools in my area are on “spring break” this week so her kid isn’t in school.

2)  Pinata’s son is 7 and she has a weird, creepy relationship with him.  It’s borderline obsessive compulsive and one that makes everyone in the office a little uncomfortable talking about. 

3)  I work on a IT helpdesk and our company is currently in the middle of a massive upgrade on a lot of our machines right now, so we have a heavy call load and being short even one person makes the workload heavier than it should be for the remaining six…so try to imagine what it’s like having four of the seven out of the office. 

4)  I don’t think Pinata has worked a full shift since the first week of January.  (This isn’t really pertinent information.  I just wanted to share it so you know what kind of crappy work ethic she has.)

– 

Weeeelllll…At 10:30 this morning both Bullhorn and myself were on the phone assisting clients with some technical issues, when suddenly, Pinata yells out to anyone within earshot that she decided she doesn’t want to be at work today; and since it’s Friday, she was leaving early to go play with her son. 

And then she left.

=

  …  …  …  …  …  …  … insert a long, awkward pause here …  …  …  …  …  …  …

Cubicle_heads

Her announcement obviously came as a shock to both Bullhorn and myself, and at that moment both Bullhorn and I stood up and peered over our cubicle walls at one another with looks of disbelief.  Then after we ended our calls, we both went into our supervisor’s office and asked how she could approve Pinata leaving for the day.  

Annnnnnddd here’s where it gets entertaining…

Our supervisor looked at us and said,

“What?  She REALLY left!?!  I thought she was going to lunch!!!”  

To which Bullhorn and I replied,

“Nope!  She’s out for the day.”

My supervisor then proceeded to call her to get her back in the office, but Pinata didn’t answer and has not responded to the numerous voice mails that have been left by our supervisor since 10:40 this morning. 

I have to admit that even though the work load has been horrendous with five team members out of the office, I’m eager to see what Monday will bring because Pinata has never been held accountable for any of her stupid actions in the past.  Of course, I don’t think any of them have been this pathetic, but then again…who’s keeping track? 

Oh!  That’s right…  I am! 

smile

Pinata is pathetic!