Grocery Hell


 christmas_mall

Here’s an oldie but a goody!  Hope it makes your belly jiggle like a bowl full of jelly!  LOL! 

Originally I published this on Dec 22, 2014…  Merry Christmas! 

George Bernard Shaw once said:  “If the other planets are inhabited, then they are using the earth as their insane asylum,” and I’m quite certain that he said that while grocery shopping during the holidays. 

This evening I made the mistake of stopping at the grocery store after my long and boring day at work. 

Ironically, I used the word “mistake“.  

Even more ironically, that I would lead you to assume I had a choice in the matter.  

It’s amazing the power of one individual who can purposely call you late in the day and ask in a sweet, gentle, loving voice,  “Honey.  We really need some things at the grocery store, and since we forgot to pick them up yesterday.  Would you mind stopping there on your way home from work?”  

I’d like to take a minute and point out some key words used in the statement above.  

First,  The word “honey”. 

It’s a word used by the non-masculine gender to elicit a softening of the heart and mood of those who possess the XY chromosome.  It’s commonly used in place of “sweetie”, “darling”, “sweetheart” and “stud muffin”; all of which can be used interchangeably and will create a warming sensation in the chest and mind of those who possess the XY chromosome.

smiling girlMost of those non-masculine types who use this word will do it out of sheer selfishness to gain an advantage and render powerless those in the XY chromosome category who think they actually have any authority.  Making it impossible to say “no“.

Next, I’d like to point out the pronoun WE which is used directly after the term “honey”.  This is only used to help those with the XY chromosome to understand that they are as much, or more so, responsible for the problem that is about to be conveyed, and IF they would have done their job correctly in the past, WE wouldn’t be in the mess “we’re” in now. 

And finally, the question that is proposed is not a question.  It’s a command that is given with only ONE correct response.  Any other response will bring about certain discomforts to those who possess the XY chromosome. 

So, after slowly driving through more traffic than there should have been (I have no idea where it came from because EVERYONE left work early today except me), I made it to the parking lot of the grocery store and drove around looking for a place to park.  

There were no places to park.  

willy-wonka-tunnelWhen I eventually found a place to park and made the long walk to the front of the store, I entered into a world of sheer imagination…and dread…and hopelessness…and fear.

Instead of grocery carts and baskets, there was a line of people which had me puzzled, so I asked the man standing at the back of the line what they were waiting for and in a blunt, exasperated tone he stated, “shopping cart!

Therefore, like the rest of the cattle, I took my place in line waiting for a grocery cart…but then I came to my senses and realized that these people were all nuts; so I went out to the parking lot and waited for a nice elderly couple to finish using theirs.

After thanking the sweet couple and wishing them a very Merry Christmas, I proceeded back into the store with my newly acquired prize.  …  A Shopping Cart!

However, as soon as I reached the front doors, I was verbally assaulted by a very large woman who didn’t take kindly to my “stealing” a cart from someone in the parking lot, as well as not waiting my turn like everyone else.  (..sigh..)  Like it was my problem these people are as dumb as a herd of cattle waiting to be fed.

Anyway…she proceeded to taunt and berate me in front of the other twenty in the herd…and before I knew it, they all started in on how I was “stealing” because I hadn’t waited my turn by standing in line while a punk kid pushing carts was out having a smoke while waiting in the parking lot for other cattle to repossess their carts.

Nonetheless, as they all continued to complain about their lack of ingenuity and ability to take the lead, I took advantage of the situation and directed their argument towards one another by accusing one of the customers of cutting in line, and while they started arguing among themselves…I ignored them and walked into the store…

…  with my shopping cart.

I very much wish that was the end of my grocery store fiasco, but it wasn’t.  The aisles were packed with cattle trying to locate their desired wares.  Some of them were just standing there looking at the ceiling.

I’m not joking…there were two guys and one very old lady just standing there looking at the ceiling.  I think they were security or maybe they heard voices…but each time I walked by them (passed one guy three times) I looked up to see what they were staring at…I should’ve asked because I never saw it.

It took 30 minutes to find a place to park.  30 minutes to snag a grocery cart.  1 hour and 30 minutes to acquire and pay for all the groceries I needed (wife kept texting me with more items) and 25 minutes to get out of the parking lot.   

Nearly three hours later…I’m home.  Groceries are delivered.  Wife is hap….

…crap…

…spoke too soon…

I forgot the butter.   //hangs head\\

Grocery stores around the holidays are pathetic.

 

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “Grocery Hell

  1. What a familiar story! The last thing I want to do after I get off from work is the grocery store on a Friday, much less Christmas Eve, but…..
    😆

    Hope you and yours had a Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I try to avoid shopping specifically for Christmas groceries and am grateful that we don’t have room for a lot or a freeer to stock with goodies. As for waiting in line for a trolley, no chance. I’ll go in empty handed and do my impression of a balancing pyramid towards the checkout.
    Happy holidays by the way. Hope your Christmas is enjoyable and stress free. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think I have given a thumbs up on a blog post and meant it for some time. You truly have some talent … er I mean dementia … talent–right! Anyway thanks for the laugh at 4AM as I take a break from my at home sleep study, which has been blowing air up my nose so long it hurts. I guess you really didn’t need to know that. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, James! Appreciate you stopping by in the midst of your early morning recovery of having air blown up your nose. 🙂 lol. Never done it, but I’ve had a friend or two who have, so I understand a little of what you’ve experienced thus far.

      Glad you enjoyed the post and hope to see you back soon. 🙂

      Like

  4. Wow, where do you shop for groceries? I’ve never waited that long for a cart, but once someone stole my cart at ShopRite before my husband and I finished unpacking it at the curb (kid you not, wrote a post about it). They swiped it with 2 4 packs of Boylans soda still in it. We went inside and spoke to the manager and they made an announcement and no one responded, and he said he could not reimburse us either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • haha…my little city doesn’t have enough grocery stores and around the holidays, especially Christmas week, the places are packed with those who waited too long to buy their groceries. It was mayhem.

      Thanks for sharing your story and that sounds awful. Thank you for the comment and hopefully you’ll never experience that kind of theft again.

      Like

  5. The “cattle” waiting for carts serve a purpose in the bigger picture. When the zombie Apocalypse starts they’ll be running, uh, waiting interference for the smarter ones in the herd. I soooo hope “we” don’t need anything from the store before Thursday!

    Liked by 2 people

    • lol…thank you for the comment. And, yes. They will be the first to go during a zombie apocalypse. Thank goodness for that.

      Also, for your sake I hope you don’t either…but if you do, I recommend going around or before 6 AM. The place is empty for about two hours.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. By the way, the persons humor that you remind me of is my dad’s. That’s who I’ve told about you, I wanted to make sure you didn’t think it was my husband. Your humor reminds me of my dad and brother’s humor. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Herd Mooings

