Amazon.com Weirdness


Amazon

Some of you may remember that I published a post back in July 2015 revealing a few pathetic items being sold on Amazon.com.  For those of you who don’t remember you can read the post HERE.

Now that we’re all on the same page most cattle know that Amazon.com uses algorithms to provide a snapshot of what consumers typically buy on their site.  From those algorithms Amazon will compile a list of data and then provide returning consumers with options of what they might be interested in purchasing.  They also use these algorithms to provide shoppers with the idea that “customers who bought this item also bought” something else.

Interestingly, and quite pathetically, those results can sometimes be flawed, skewed or just plain wrong. 

That being said, here are a few that I’ve found over the past couple of months, and I should mention that these screen shots are ‘as is’.  I have not altered these images in any way.  Amazon’s algorithms just don’t work very well sometimes…or maybe they work a little too well…

Anyway…here they are: 

  • Fertilizer and …. ?

combined items VI <–click image to enlarge

Every time I go shopping for fertilizer I tend to purchase Christmas ribbon.  It just seems like the perfect combination and it’s never too early or late in the year to buy either one.

  • Technology and  …. ?

combined items VII <–click image to enlarge

How many of you have bought computer components and a new form-fitting dress at the same time?

Yeahhh…I’m thinking No – One – Ever.

  • Halloween costumes and …. ?

combined items V <–click image to enlarge

I can see a whole new marketing campaign with this one.  “Playtex.  The perfect accessory for any Halloween costume.”

okay…maybe not.

  • Batteries and …. ?

combined items IX <–click image to enlarge

This one I understand because I was shopping for batteries, but . . . ummmm . . . .  no… just… no.

  • Novelty stuff, Silly Putty, Slime and …. ?

combined items VIII <–click image to enlarge

Why in the world would Amazon think that people like to purchase a scary Spiderman Venom mask along with Silly Putty or Slime?  They have nothing to do with each other…

Okay, well, maybe that’s not entirely true.  

Venom was created because of a substance that attaches itself to a host; but I wouldn’t call it slimy, more like sticky or gooey.  I don’t know…either way, it’s just not something I would purchase along with Silly Putty, Slime or those sticky stretch handsey things.

Also, it’s scary as hell.

Gotta say, Amazon’s algorithms produce results that can be a bit pathetic. 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Amazon.com Weirdness

  1. How many of you have bought computer components and a new form-fitting dress at the same time? I understand there are some people who are wild about selfies, in the nude. Hope you are not into that.
    😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Am I into taking nude selfies? Why, Of course I am! I’ll be posting them regularly on my blog starting in July. (joking) lol.

      ya, no. Not into naked selfies. Believe me, no one wants to see me naked and that includes myself!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Ha! Well said. It’s a bit funny, but you can actually socially engineer your own self, mess with those algorithms and create an awesome profile. I was doing pretty good for a while, high end real estate, exotic vacations, designer everything. Than suddenly I started getting bail bonds and public defenders so I thought I better knock it off.

    Now you know what bored bloggers do in their spare time. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh my word! IB?!?! lol. that’s going from one extreme to another. 🙂

      And here I thought bored bloggers just wrote about how bored they were. I stand corrected! – btw…Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post. LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

Herd Mooings

