Missed Opportunities


missed opportunity

What do you do when everything inside you tells you that you’re going to be a failure, but when you see that one person who takes your breath away you suddenly have the confidence of 1000 men?

Do you approach them?  Do you say hello?  Do you just stand there gawking like a weirdo and repress the confidence with negative thoughts?  

In my case, I approach them and say hello.  I’m kinda weird like that, except this morning…I saw a woman walking into the building where I get my morning coffee, and since I wasn’t having a very good morning, my spirit was kind of. . . disgruntled.  

Anyway, she was walking in the building ahead of me and held the door for myself and another person.  For a brief moment she looked up at me and when our eyes met, my confidence grew.  I can’t really explain it, it just did.  

As we walked closer to the elevators, she flipped her hair a few times and kind of slowed down a bit to let me catch up.  All the signs were there and I felt like saying hello or asking her how she was doing this morning, however, instead of saying anything to her I let her get on the elevator and never even looked back.  

I have no idea who she is.  No idea if I’ll ever see her again.  No idea if I’ll ever have the opportunity to introduce myself again.  

head_in_pillow

Missed opportunities are pathetic, but sometimes being a guy and feeling like you’re the one who has to make the move all the time can be really pathetic as well. 

6 thoughts on “Missed Opportunities

  1. Ha! I could write the book on missed opportunities and regret. Not romantically and I am not a guy, but times I should have stepped forward but I just stood there looking stupid, and times I should have reached out to someone, but I just didn’t know how.

    Also, I often resent the fact that I must be the first to break the ice, that I must always be the one to reach out. It’s terribly unfair. I suspect that has something to do with faith, we are called to lead, to be salt and light in a lost world, to put ourselves out there. What good is salt if it has no flavor? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Herd Mooings

