Djibouti


education

I would very much like to welcome the one visitor to my blog from the country of Djibouti.  (I apologize if you were searching for a livestock trading website and were directed to my pathetic place on the interwebz.)  

Since I had never heard of Djibouti, I decided to research it using the one resource that would allow me to never leave the comforts of my chair…the internets.   

Here’s what I found out about Djibouti:  

Djibouti, on the Horn of Africa, is a mostly French and Arabic speaking country of dry shrublands, volcanic formations and Red Sea beaches.  It’s home to one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world in the Danakil Desert, the low-lying Lake Assal.

The nomadic Afar people have settlements along Lake Abbe, a body of saltwater featuring chimney-like mineral formations.

It has a population of over 850,000. 

Neighboring countries are Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea and Somaliland.

Over 90% of the land in Djibouti is desert, therefore, the climate is torrid and rainfall is sparse and erratic.

On Mt. Goda, near Tadjoura, there are rare giant juniper trees, acacias and wild olive trees.  However, most of the vegetation is typical of the desert consisting of thorn scrubs and palm trees.

As for the economy, Djibouti has a market-based, free-enterprise economy.  Its economy is dependent upon its strategic position at the narrow straits at the southern entrance to the Red Sea; and the French military base in Djibouti is the country’s largest single source of economic and commercial activity.  The remainder of the economy is service oriented and centered upon the free port of Djibouti, the railway terminus there, the airport and the government administration.  The free port features a deep-water container terminal of which France has committed substantial funds to its continuing modernization.  There is also an active construction industry.

New cattle to the herd are pathetic followers.

 

10 thoughts on “Djibouti

  1. Wow, I’ve heard of Djibouti before but didn’t know much about it. I think it’s fantastic how we are able to communicate with people from all over the world. Nothing pathetic about it, trully amazing.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I find myself getting views from countries I have never heard of myself, and by the dozens. Am I cultural icon there? Do they worship me? Am I their long-lost prince?

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Thank you. I’ve also had readers from Dijbouti and wondered about it but was too lazy to research it. I just figured my posts are so very wonderful that they are enjoyed worldwide. I take whatever I can get.

    Liked by 2 people

Herd Mooings

