Pippi, Workplace Drama and The Straw That Broke the Camel’s Back


Argument2

I’ve been trying to figure out how to write this post because I don’t want it to come across as demeaning towards Pippi, nor do I want it to come across as though I’m the bad guy.  I guess I should just be blunt and write it as only I know how to write…

Let me begin by telling you that last week Pippi and I had a minor disagreement. 

Who am I kidding?  It wasn’t minor.  It was huge. 

Here’s the story…

This may be difficult to imagine or believe, but I have a tendency to say things that may be perceived as cynical, rude or insensitive to some people, and last week I did just that.

Actually, I can’t even remember what I said…but whatever it was, ticked Pippi off and had her storming into our supervisor’s office to complain, YET AGAIN, about my insensitivity and lack of verbal politeness.   

She was in her office for about 5 minutes screaming and yelling, after which she stormed out and spewed her condescending diatribe to another supervisor who happens to give Pippi everything she wants because he enjoys watching Pippi bounce her “udders” in his face.  

While she was in his office pressing her “milk machines” together, my supervisor called me into her office and asked me what was going on? 

My reply to her was, “You tell me.  I have no idea what set Pippi off.”

To which she replied, “yeah…I don’t know either.  All I know is that she’s ticked off and wants to take it out on you.” 

We both laughed it off and my supervisor did her best to bring the boil to a simmer by having a meeting with Pippi and I late in the afternoon.  Which didn’t go very well, because instead of Pippi using the meeting as an opportunity to talk about what I said that ticked her off, she used it to open the flood gates about everything she hasn’t liked about me since I started.

I tried to stay calm.

Sadly, that was impossible. 

I finally blew up and she and I went toe-to-toe releasing our anger and frustrations towards one another. 

It was like standing in a room with two siblings who have years of pent up resentment and anger towards one another and finally had an opportunity to stop “playing nice” and decided to bombard one another with insults and accusations in front of their parent.

You should have seen the look on my managers face as the two of us unloaded our grievances.  It was classic.  I should have taken a selfie with her because I honestly don’t think she knew half of the things that Pippi and I revealed about one another.

After the yelling had finally stopped our supervisor attempted to settle things in a diplomatic way.  She listed the grievances each of us had for one another and then asked us both if we could somehow find a way to get along.  

Reluctantly, we agreed, shook hands and walked back out into the office.  

Since then, it’s been difficult to go to work.  Not that it wasn’t difficult before, but since I know Pippi is doing everything she can to malign my reputation with other teams and coworkers, it makes it more difficult than ever. 

For the past few months I’ve considered quitting my job.  I hate the idea of leaving without having anything lined up, but this past weekend I finally decided that I’ve had enough with the drama.  Enough with the slacking off.  Enough with the bad management.  

So this morning I gave my two week notice.  

Quite honestly, I feel relieved.  The pressure’s off.  

In some ways I didn’t want to let Pippi win, but there was no way I could show up for work everyday knowing that woman was plotting to ruin my life.  She’s that way.  If she thinks you have it out for her, she will do what she can to get the jump on you.  Sadly, she doesn’t know me very well because I don’t seek revenge on anyone, and I never want to make someone’s life more difficult than it should be.  

Please understand that Pippi isn’t the reason I’m leaving this place.  This was just the proverbial straw that broke the camels back.  The reason I’m leaving is because of my sanity, of which I have lost 75% since I started this job. 

I’d very much like to get that back. 

I’m sure a few of you are wondering if the workplace stories will cease to be posted on my site? 

Probably not.  I have so much more to share with you all about the stupidity of my coworkers.  Trust me…they are a pathetic bunch.

In the mean time, it’ll be nice to dump my work on Pippi and Pinata.  For me, THAT is the ultimate revenge.   (wink) 

Finally being able to walk away from coworkers I struggle working with is pathetic, but so is trying to endure a hostile workplace.   

Also…is anyone hiring?  

quit_job  

 

 

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Pippi, Workplace Drama and The Straw That Broke the Camel’s Back

  1. Isn’t it such a bummer that work makes it so we spend the majority of our time with people we never would otherwise? I’m sorry it came to that, but it seems like you’ll be happier elsewhere. I’ve tried the friends thing at work and it doesn’t seem to go well, now I’m just polite and respectful but not interested in friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am lucky enough to work for a company that does not allow that kind of BS from anyone. Everyone from the owner down to the mail room guys get treated with respect. Any hires who can’t follow that don’t last long. The entire culture is one of treating everyone with respect. I’ve been here nearly 15 years and while I can’t say there have never been issues, when they do crop up it is just known that they will be worked out in a mutually dignified way. I am so sorry you’ve had to deal with such idiocy, but I do agree with the poster above who said you should never allow someone else’s crap become yours and sink to their level. Of course that is easier said than done sometimes! I wish you lots of luck in your job search.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. My hubby was in a similar situation in sept 2013. He handed his notice in after 12 years of being in the same place. Nothing to go to, but the relief he felt! OK so it took a year for him to find a new job, but we were lucky with supportive family who had our back. But hey I got my hubby back!
    Don’t look back, its probably the best decision you made! Good luck with your job hunt! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This is similar to my daughter’s former work environment. Her direct supervisor (who didn’t actually have that title and claimed they were on equal footing) was so afraid K would show her up to the big boss that she wouldn’t train her on things she needed to know. It wasn’t the only problem and after trying to deal with the personalities there for a few years K quit and found another job.

    Good luck with the job hunt, you deserve to find a great job with wonderfully pathetic people!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If her behavior/actions are upsetting you so and causing you to act in ways your would normally not you have made the best decision by giving your notice. But I also wouldn’t allow someone’s else behavior to influence your actions and behaviour so much. Employers are not dumb, they know where the drama comes from and playing right into it and not being able to separate yourself from her drama demonstrates your unprofessionalism which in the long run hurts you to. Good luck with finding a new job and getting a new start.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had a similar situation. Not the drag out fight, but a colleague that I worked with that was constantly reporting her spin on my work ethic to our boss who worked in an office with her while I helplessly worked 400 miles away at my own home office with no one to support my claims of my impeccable work ethic aside from my husband. Finally I put in my notice on the first day of a DM conference I was attending since that was my first time to see my boss in person for a year, at the conference I was asked to offer a speech on my work methods and schedules and my boss’s face while listening to my routine made it all worth while, “sounds like you have it more together than any of us.” Damn right I do, bet you’ll miss my ass that accumulated a quarter of your year over year growth for this entire company, hope she was worth it. 😉 Maybe a little bitter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s easy to get bitter when there is a lack of leadership to resolve an issue. Most managers are just that…managers…and have no leadership qualities what so ever. Sounds like you made the right decision to leave at the time. Nothing better than to look them in the eye and say with confidence “I quit.” 😉

      Like

  7. I am really sorry that things have come to a head and you have now decided to leave your job and the PATHETIC co-workers. What a shame that they got to you s badly, I can understand that you must feel so much better now that you have made that decision. I hope you soon find something else 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Herd Mooings

