A Serious Post


 survive

I’ve read a number of blogs where people write about their dating woes, relationship troubles, marriage problems and the like.  I’ve read blogs that brag about travels experienced, foods tasted, monies won and awards received.  I’ve read humor blogs, self-help blogs and poetry blogs all hoping to deliver some emotional support to those who read and write them.

But nothing compares to the blogs I’ve read where someone shares the pain they are going through while battling a disease that has no known cure.

Recently, I read two blogs that were written about the same subject but from two very distinct perspectives.

The first was written by a loving husband who recently watched his wife lose her battle with cancer.  The second was written by a young woman in her early 30’s who is currently battling cancer and writing about her experience first hand.

Both writers are very open, candid and sincere.  Neither of them hold back in regards to their personal feelings towards the disease that has affected their lives in both a positive and negative way.  Their words are mingled with hope and fear, confusion and faith, doubt and perseverance, and they both put life into a very narrow perspective; therefore, my heart aches for these two individuals and their families as they face the tests this disease brings to their lives.

Personally, I’ve witnessed the devastation that cancer can cause on the human body and how it slowly eats away at a life; how it leaves behind only a remnant of a person who once was and can shatter the hopes and dreams of every person it touches.

The harsh truth is that cancer does not discriminate.  Young or old, male or female I don’t think there is one person reading this who hasn’t had the tentacles of cancer reach into their lives at some point.  I’m quite confident that each of you has known someone who has suffered from this disease, and I’m sure that more than a few of you could name someone you knew personally who died from it. 

If you haven’t, consider yourself blessed.

cancerFor all we know, cancer has no cure, and in my modest and humble opinion it’s a disease that needs our full attention, but the science world would rather complain about global warming, STD’s and whether or not someone was born this way or that, taking the focus of the general public off of what’s truly important. 

I firmly believe that Medical research could really make an impact on curing cancer, as well as many other diseases, if we all would stop focusing on the stupid and start focusing on that which matters. The health of those we love.

For those of you who are interested, the American Cancer Society has a webpage where you can make a donation to help find a cure for this deadly disease.  Click  >here<  to be taken to that site.

Cancer is pathetic…but those who are fighting it need your support, love and prayers.  If you happen to know someone who’s battling this disease, take a moment to reach out to them and/or their family.  You’d be amazed at how a small note of encouragement can make a world of difference in their lives and bring a glimmer of hope to those who feel hopeless.

~  God Bless. 


21 thoughts on “A Serious Post

  1. I too have loved ones with cancer and it scares me. All you have to do is read the comments to understand how many lives it ruins. Thank you for this post.

    My brother is battling a disease that the CDC says doesn’t exist. The only researcher working to find out about Morgellons lives in my city. He says we’ll know something in his lifetime and I love him for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you for this comment and you’re welcome for my post. Our family just lost a beloved friend to brain cancer on Sunday. I’m so sorry for your brother’s condition…if I can offer any prayers for him and your family, I will do so.

      Like

  2. I am a cancer survivor. Malignant melanoma… 1983. I had to have hole cut in my right cheek and then sewn back together. I managed to sidestep chemotherapy and the disease was completely removed by surgery. The doctor caught it early. Which is a blessing and a miracle. Melanoma was fatal about 92% of the time when I had it. Now in October of every year I wear pink. I’m too crippled up with arthritis to Run for the Cure, but I support it in every way that I can. I am wearing pink today. Thank you for sharing this essay. To all those fighting the good fight, I salute you. I wish I had some left-over miracle to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I lost both my father and step-father to cancer. It is a cruel and horrible disease, and you are right, does not discriminate. I know there have been wonderful advances in the treatment of cancer, but we do still need to do more, to get rid of this PATHETIC disease, once and for all.

    Like

  4. I just found out yesterday that my step-mom’s PET scan came back with bad news. Stage 4 breast cancer is back. I don’t know how to support my dad through this. He and my mom have only been split up for two years, and now his wife is staring down a deadly disease. It’s more than I can wrap my heart around. All I can do is take it one moment at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I liked reading your words. My mom died of cancer (lung/liver) after overcoming colon cancer 5 years earlier. There were awful moments but also many places where we found silver linings. Her battle with cancer made us much closer…kind of stripped away all the things that didn’t matter and let us both be more ourselves. Being able to take care of her toward the end was a gift. Might sound weird, but I’m so happy that I got to tend her. She was a great person…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well said and so true! I’ve lost 4 family members on my mothers side to cancer and several friends. It’s so hard to watch them suffer and not be able to do a thing about it. How can that not affect you in so many ways? I hope for more research, new and improved treatments/preventatives and obviously most of all a cure!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I wish I could believe they were really TRYING to find a cure for cancer. But the cynic in me says that once a cure is found all that research money goes bye bye and why would they bite the hand that feeds them? It’s pathetic that money drives everything in this country. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have a close friend who is battling cancer right now. My father-in-law was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer a day before he had a massive heart attack, from which he never awoke. He passed away on January 15. A little bit of kindness towards those who are going through the ravages of the disease does not go unnoticed.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I hear you. We watched a 23-year-old man died from cancer, and it was heartbreaking for everyone around him. Somehow he kept his sense of humor right up until the day he finally lapsed into a coma. No one should ever have to watch someone die, and especially not the slow death caused by cancer.

    Liked by 1 person

Herd Mooings

